¿What is TIER?

¿What is TIER?


The TIER concept is related to the level of reliability and security of a datacenter, it is related to 4 defined certification levels. The higher the TIER number, the greater the benefits, availability, security, and this is also reflected in the costs associated with construction or implementation. Currently, there are 4 different TIER types defined in the world, and in order from least to greatest they are:

TIER I: Basic Datacenter - reliability of 99,671%.

  • Service may be interrupted by planned or unexpected activities or actions.
  • It does not have the appropriate and special elements for the distribution of energy and refrigeration.
  • May or may not have raised floors, auxiliary power generators, or UPS.
  • The data center will be put out of service once a year, in order to perform maintenance activities or if necessary.

TIER II: Redundant Datacenter - reliability of 99,741%.

  • It is less susceptible to interruptions due to planned or unexpected activities.
  • Redundant components (N+1)
  • It has raised floors, auxiliary power generators or UPS.
  • They are connected to a single line of electrical load and refrigeration.
  • If the datacenter requires maintenance of any cold or electrical distribution component or other parts of the infrastructure, it requires an interruption in service.

TIER III: Concurrently Maintainable Datacenter - 99.982% reliability.

  • Programming of maintenance actions is possible without the need to interrupt the service.
  • Unplanned events may cause an unplanned service stoppage.
  • Redundant components (N+1)
  • It connects to multiple electrical load and refrigeration lines, however only one remains active; the others are backup lines.
  • Maintenance by lines is possible without interruption of the computing service, due to its distribution capacity.

TIER IV: Fault-tolerant Datacenter - 99.995% reliability.

  • Has the ability to withstand at least one unplanned 'worst case scenario' event without critical impact on cooling and electrical load.
  • It connects to multiple power and cooling distribution lines with multiple redundant components (2 (N+1) means 2 UPS with N+1 redundancy).
  • Maintenance is possible without affecting computing services.

In Outsourcing S.A.S. BIC we have the latest technology infrastructure that guarantees your company storage capacity and security of your information, learn about our technology here.